About The International Energy Agency (IEA)

The IEA works with governments and industry to shape a secure and sustainable energy future for all

The International Energy Agency (IEA) was formed in 1974 as an autonomous body within the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The IEA works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for both its member countries and nations around the world. Currently, there are 29 member countries participating in the IEA; there are also six countries with association status and two countries who are candidates for accession to the IEA.

The agency has established a legal framework for international collaboration, which takes place under 39 Implementing Agreements, or Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCPs). These TCPs cover a wide assortment of energy technologies in fossil fuels, renewable energy, nuclear fusion research and efficient energy end-use.

For more information on the International Energy Agency, visit the IEA Website.

The IEA focuses its R&D, demonstration, and information exchange on four main areas:

  • Energy security
  • Economic development
  • Environmental awareness
  • Worldwide engagement

The IEA Committee on Energy Research and Technology (CERT) supervises the TCPs. CERT has also mandated that the Working Party for Renewable Energy Technologies (REWP) identify technologies likely to contribute to the IEA goals, promote collaborative R&D, and initiate, promote, and review Implementing Agreements in the renewable energy field.

Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCP) Brochure

This brochure identifies the recent activities and analytical expertise within the IEA TCPs and their efforts to support innovations in energy security, economic growth, and environmental protection through collaborative research initiatives.

Get the brochure